Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend to criticize the large growth of patriotism. Some people understand that it’s very important to keep the highest levels of love for the nation. Others argue that the new age has brought a new global perspective contrary to patriotism. I definitely agree with this second opinion. The first reason that makes me stand against exaggerated patriotism is the new globalized world. My compelling experience has shown that because of globalization, for example, trade between China and the USA has created the best environment for both nations and, as a consequence, enhanced their economies and their people's quality of life. Generally, the more open the country is, the better the population's well-being is. Apart from some specific economic problems related to some industry sectors, being open usually means getting to know new cultures, new options of commerce, new products, and also new good habits. An open-minded view of all countries and their relationships with other nations has been improving economies because it allows the perfect environment to maximize trade and minimize difficulties. In addition to improving commerce, by reducing the levels of patriotism, nations can increase the international exchange of people and culture. Some recent studies have shown that countries with low levels of patriotism tend to welcome better foreigners. That is, for instance, what happened, when singers like Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes left their country, Brazil, to live in the USA. It is more likely that a multicultural environment provides the population with the best opportunities to grow in terms of well-being and lifestyle. To summarize, although the lack of patriotism might cause some drawbacks, the advantages of being an open nation far outweigh the disadvantages. Not only because it improves commerce, but also because of the multicultural environment created by welcoming foreigners.