Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about the right and wrong. Other people consider the main responsibility of the parent is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Kids are meant to be disciplined and taught what is bad and good, while a certain group may disapprove of this being the role of the parent, another group believes a guardian's responsibility is to bring up the child in a safe neighbourhood. Both views will be further discussed. On one end, bringing up a child can be a lot and it is the goal of every parent to make sure their child turns out great in the end. Hence, why most parents strive to train their children to differentiate between good and evil and hardly focus on other things. For example, a parent will tell the child to stay away from bad friends that will encourage him or her to engage in dangerous activities but not explain why. Therefore, when they grow older, they start to question most of the morals taught to them. Thus, I believe their responsibility is to do more than just build morals as they should teach other things as well that will be of benefit to their kids in the future. On the other hand, most kids need to feel safe in their environment as some of them are exposed to bullying by their mates and other teenagers. Also, some of them are exposed to neighbourhoods which sometimes can be dangerous for their upbringing. For example, a kid whose neighbour is a drug addict and dealer, soon the child may begin to think that the only way to make money might be to sell drugs. Hence, guardians need to be more vigilant when it comes to their children and be mindful of the environment in which they grow. In conclusion, training a child should involve protection, nurturing and discipline from every party responsible. I believe it is important for every parent to protect their children from their surroundings and also nurture them to be good people and help them understand how to become better adults.