Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that many individuals nowadays are engrossed in public platforms. Several people believe, that these websites are affecting them and their community on a large scale. I completely disagree with this belief and will support my view with examples. On one hand, along with instant messaging and communication, many of these sites also provide a stage to conduct business. They work in a similar way to how an e-commerce application would work, where people can buy and sell the products according to their needs. For instance, Facebook has a module called the Marketplace which traders use to expand their business. As a result, profit margins can be considerably higher, furthermore, this also opens the door to unemployed people to start from scratch. On the other hand, these web applications are accessible from any part of the world through the internet. With a simple click of the login button, one can access a variety of functionalities these networking sites provide. For example, scheduling video conferences, conducting live seminars, virtual video calls, online gaming and interacting with family and friends. These were particularly useful during the pandemic when everyone had to either study or work from their homes. In addition, if they ever feel like de-activating their account, they can de-activate it instantly without any hassle. In conclusion, although many have an opinion that social media is having a negative effect on today’s civilization. In my opinion, the benefits such as instant messaging, C2C and B2B trade modes and video conferences outweigh the drawbacks.