You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Railroads and roads are indispensable parts of a country’s infrastructure. These means of transportation are vital to a country because they provide society and industry with a consistent connection between regions. While roads are most commonly being used for traveling, railroads have more industrial functionality. Nowadays, although there might be a widespread belief about trains and railroads indicating they are the relics of the past, they still have enormous potential by providing significant advantages over conventional roads. I believe advancement in railroads would foster economic growth and protect the environment. First, a wide range of studies has demonstrated the role of a consistent and efficient network of railroads in economic growth. For example, the inherent convenience of conveying huge amounts of cargo compared to trucks running on the roadways enables firms and manufacturers to receive or send their input and output materials on time. In addition, an efficient network of railroads reduces marginal costs and creates value-adds to the economy by connecting economic zones. Eventually, investment in railroads would accelerate the circulation of the economy. Second, the growing role of science in developing various sources of energy is irrefutable. Nowadays, the invention of nuclear, electromagnetic, and compost energies has ameliorated the inefficiency indices of machines. For example, electromagnetic engines use electricity to produce a magnetic field to accelerate the train, so they would have two significant advantages over conventional engines in terms of efficiency and speed without using fossil fuels. Consequently, the result of installing these engines would satisfy the environment. In conclusion, I believe that spending money on railroads would be beneficial to the economy and environment of a country in terms of value and efficiency they provide. The investment would create a brilliant opportunity to avoid the over-use of fossil fuels, reduce the risk of accidents by declining the number of cars on roads, and satisfy the criterion of industrial supply-chain transportation.