In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is generally accepted that putting in a large effort can lead to success in many cultures. Even though this message can motivate kids to reach their goals, it does not provide children with the knowledge of the opposite possibilities. Thus, this essay will elaborate on the benefits and the drawbacks of delivering this statement to youngsters. Firstly, it is commonly known that trying as hard as we can will result in achieving the ultimate goal perfectly. This can benefit juveniles since they will have a strong mindset which can grow their ambitions towards their dreams. For instance, a boy who wants to be a racer will have faith in his dream if his parents taught him that he can achieve his goal if he persistently practises and learns neatly. Moreover, the positive words given by one’s parents can also grow children’s positive mindset. On the other hand, while equipping youngsters with ambitious words may bring them success, it still also has the opposite consequences. This can be a disadvantage for youngsters if they do not recognize the other possibility of success, which is a failure. For instance, during a running competition, an athlete’s family most likely will support him/her, while at the end of the race, he may win or even lose. Losing or being disappointed is something that is hard to be accepted in one’s heart, therefore, it also needs to be taught by parents to their kids, so children will acknowledge the feeling of not winning and kids will be able to accept it with a big heart when they experience it in the future and learn from it. In conclusion, although in various cultures, positive words can lead to expected results, adults also need to educate juveniles about the opposite consequences. In my opinion, I firmly believe that by doing so, children will be able to accept failures when they happen in the future.