Some universities deduct students’ marks if work is given late. What is your opinion and recommend some alternative actions for this problem?

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend of underscoring assignments on delay. Some understand that some delays could be excusable depending on the beneath reason. Others argue that given task evaluation involves a wide range of responsabilities like terms and results. My compelling experience lead me to agree with the first opinion, as well as the deducted marks of late tasks on some not justified cases. First of all, the reason that makes me understand the importance of following properly terms is the necessity of marking also the student's liability. The more reliable the person is, the better his or her results will be. It does not seem important at the first glance, nevertheless, we need to understand that it could be a life-death question for others. For example, my father is a doctor, and once he called for his assistant and asked urgently for a plastic bag. The assistant did not give the real importance, because he thought it was just a plastic bag. It turns out that it was a bag to transport a transplanted heart, and, as a consequence of the delay the patient did not survive. On the other hand, I think there should be some alternatives before the final reduction so that the graduate can feel motivated to overcome his or her own difficulties. In the same way, some recent studies have shown the importance of being motivated. Even though a delay is a problem, there could be an opportunity for the student to explain his or her fault before being undermarked. For instance, my brother had to take my father to the hospital some days ago, and, because of this, he gave his task out of date. In such a situation, considering the value of life, and besides all other issues, I do not think that a low mark would be fair. To summarize, though there are benefits to reduce marks on delayed works, the disadvantages of doing this without a good criterea far outweigh the advantages. Not only because of the injustice but also because it might end up not motivating the student.