some people think universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge dor its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

There is no doubt that universities have a crucial role in preparing students for real-life experiences. It is widely argued that students are given all required materials for their workplace including a variety of skills and knowledge, while others believe that students should get the basics needed skills for their career. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the last statement, as I believe that universities should provide students with the initial needs that are beneficial for their professions. First of all, it is clear that a number of people support a theory of the role of universities. In other words, universities work as an excellent source of helping to prepare graduates for their upcoming profession. This is because there is a wide range of knowledge in different majors. For example, teachers as a career need a lot of real-life skills to be in real-world settings. According to a recent study by Sultan Qaboos University, approximately 45% of teachers get their high skills after graduating from college. Furthermore, it is generally recognized that teaching a lot of other unrelated subjects would increase the time to complete the courses and would result in rocketed tuition costs. A key reason for this is that students need to pay for fees which require access to all facilities and lectures. For instance, a program that should have been over by three years but extended to four years probably needs more expense. In conclusion, universities have a seriously positive impact on preparing graduates for their careers. I generally agree with the statement that the main act of a university is to provide helpful courses to its students. In addition, I fully encourage that graduates should take positive action to develop their skills and knowledge by themselves.