What Are The Pros And Cons Of Public Transportation

In recent times, with urbanisation, commuting from one place to the other has become a problem. There are both sides to this kind of public transport, some argue that it has more advantages than drawbacks. In this essay. I will discuss both merits and demerits of public transport. The main advantage of this kind of commuting is that it reduces the effects of global warming. This is because, there will be fewer cars on the road, as a result of this it will improve the air quality. For instance, research done by the University of Sydney reveals that due to the use of public metro and buses the air quality has improved almost 80% in and around the city. Secondly, it helps reduce the traffic on roads during peak hours. Therefore, it is important that people take the advantage of available public transport and help reduce pollution in big cities. However, there is a significant disadvantage of this kind of commuting as people get stranded during rush hour and a lot of precious time is wasted. This is because in the big cities during peak-hour there is a huge influx of commuters. For example, The Guardian recently posted some interviews of very unhappy locals who complained about their experiences during rush hour and how stressful it can be for them. Hence, sometimes this sort of commuting can have its cons. In conclusion, I still think public transport is a great way to tackle the air pollution in big cities. However, the rush hour can get problematic for some commuters. Even though, in my opinion, the advantages of public transport outweigh the disadvantages.