Many animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in the sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

In this day and age, the extinction of numerous land and sea creatures is becoming a rising global concern because of human activities. There are several causes of this alarming trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem. There are several reasons why more and more animal species are on the verge of extinction not only on land but also in the sea. Firstly, illegal hunting is one of the most popular activities all around the world. The poachers have a tendency to kill some valuable animals such as tigers, elephants, and so on for skin and ivory in order to meet their need for food and fashionable supplements. This has caused the population of those animals to decline in recent years. The second factor is related to industrial activities that play an important role in polluting wild animals ’ natural habitat. Thus, a large number of animals do not have any safe shelters to live in or find food, pushing them to the verge of extinction. Moreover, there is a dangerous accident from oil exploitation when a large amount of oil is spilled in the sea, which leads to the disappearance of many kinds of aquatic creatures such as fish because of exposure to the chemicals. There are several actions that governments and individuals could take to solve the problems described above. One good approach to decreasing illegal hunting is that the authorities should launch campaigns to propagate and raise people's awareness and understanding, or even impose stricter punishments on poachers such as life imprisonment or heavy fines. Furthermore, more wildlife sanctuaries are built to keep animals that are on the red list there for their safety. In conclusion, it is clear that people have caused many extreme problems affecting some animals ’ populations and safety. I believe that it is essential for the government and individuals to join hands and put more effort into fighting poaching.