The car is a disastrous 20th Century invention that has made the world’s cities more dangerous and polluted, as well as being responsible for the deaths of millions of people in accidents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that cars not only are not safe to use but also are responsible for pollution. Although several attempts have been done to increase cars ' safety and make them zero emisson emissions, I am convinced that a great number of humans are still dying in car accidents annually and even modern vehicles generate considerable amount of harmful pollution. There is a huge improvement in the car manufacturing since it was introduced to the world for the first time. Firstly, many safety options have been added to cars to make them reliable like seat belts and air bags, which have decreased the death tolls compared to a hundred years ago. Furthermore, electric cars have been designed to reduce the exhaust fumes and it was told that this new generation of cars will revolutionise this industry. Despite the above so-called developments, pollution that is being produced by cars is irrefutable. A great number of petrol cars are still being used around the world. They are generating a great amount of exhaust fumes with burning oil which is directly released into the atmosphere and is detrimental for human health. This problem is even greater in developing countries where the low quality oil is being used which produces even more dangerous fumes that can contribute to respiratory diseases like asthma. In addition, the electric cars have not been successful to eliminate the pollution. This is because the means for generating the electricity needed for them to run also produce pollution. Thus, cars still are playing an integral role in making the environment polluted. Moreover, the reports show that the number of people who were killed in road accidents is significant. In spite of all the efforts being done by companies like Benz and BMW, there are still factors that lead to accidents. For example, poor roads conditions and impaired drivers are factors that can result in accidents regardless of how the car is conforming standards. Therefore, car accidents are still responsible for many casualties. To sum up, though advanced cars have been successful to reduce the number of deaths and pollution compared to the past, one can say that cars still cause enormous yearly deaths and pollution. I believe that the pollution that petrol cars and generating electricity produce plus other factors involved in car accidents make cars a dangerous and detrimental invention.