Some people think that it is the responsibility of the government to ensure that people in the country have healthy lifestyles. Other people believe that individuals should be free to decide their own lifestyles. Discuss both opinions and give your own idea.

It is quite common that people are increasingly concerned about their physical health. Therefore, there is a debate about whether the government should take responsibility for citizens’ health. While some people think that individuals have the autonomy to choose their own satisfying lifestyles I tend to hold a different opinion. Most people understand the importance of a healthy lifestyle, which has an influence on their lifespan. But few people have the self-control to stay away from bad unhealthy habits, such as smoking, taking drugs, alcohol abuse, and so on. Thus, the government has the responsibility to set up related rules and regulations, stimulate some companies to take investment in the health industry, and build some outdoor sports infrastructure to promote citizens to take part in outdoor activities. Through these methods, eventually, the whole society has an atmosphere of health; and citizens will unconsciously choose to have a healthy lifestyle. Take Germany as an example, to protect citizens’ health, a regulation that any employee cannot work over 40 hours in a week was set up and a huge number of football fields were built to allow residents to participate in football sports additionally. Admittedly, the government should not disturb dwellers’ right to make choices on lifestyle. While too many people are unaware of their surrounding circumstances-which means eating high-oil food or take-out food conveniently or working overnight frequently, etc. In addition, the concept of lifestyle in citizens depends on their income, status, parenting, schooling, society, and so forth. Hence, the government enables to implement many measures to enhance people ’s awareness of health fundamentally. In conclusion, the government has the priority of changing citizens’ habits that will damage their physical and mental health, and thus it plays the majority role in the promotion of healthy lifestyles.