Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

No one will argue that in this time the use of social media is at its peak. The impact of the digital world on people is enormous. It has changed the way individuals communicate with each other and stay informed about the world around them. Even if social media provides abundant of advantages in the way how the news spreads with high speed and allows people to communicate with each other easily, it also has some disadvantages. This essay will explore if the benefits of using social networks outweigh the drawbacks. The first major advantage to notice is the speed at which news is published. Nowadays people can easily read all the news with the details at once on a good deal of apps and websites. This was, however, not possible before and they were forced to wait for several days. The next benefit is the opportunity to connect people from different parts of the world. A majority of social media platforms offer its users opportunities to share life updates, make video calls or text messages to their friends or colleagues, which creates a sense of togetherness. These functions are extremely useful especially now as people are more like to relocate to other countries and cities for studying or working purposes. On the other hand, it is necessary to compare the advantages with the drawbacks as well. Firstly, social networks may pose a danger to individuals’ privacy. There are ample of different persons on social media platforms and not all of them have decent ideas and intentions when using the platforms. Therefore, it is important to protect all user accounts to avoid getting into trouble such as spreading private information about oneself and stalking. One more disadvantage to mention is misinformation. Because of the speed at which news lay out there may be misleading content. This may cause problems from the public’s point of view as wrong information can lead to heaps of trouble. In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of using social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news are closely connected with each other. The benefits of connectivity opportunities and access to news are amazing, but they may cost people their privacy breaches and misinformation. Impending improvements in social media could bring balance to it.