Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the government is obligated to maintain cities' normal operation and provide a tidy environment for the local community. However, people should also contribute to this and be responsible for their actions. One of the significant benefits of people looking after their own local environment is that it will be good for everyone's health. Putting rubbish in the designated location, and stopping littering and spitting on the streets can lower the risks of anyone getting a disease. Moreover, it can create a safe environment not only for ourselves but also for the future generation. Dangerous items, such as batteries, plastic bags, and electronic waste, can contaminate the soil and water permanently, which will erode arable lands and create a food shortage crisis. If people do not separate them from the regular trash before throwing them away, it will be impossible for refuse processing plants to isolate them from tons of garbage. Admittedly, it is true that a large proportion of government revenue comes from the tax paid by citizens. Thus, the government is accountable for providing taxpayers with public sanitation services. However, the general public should also raise awareness of environmental protection. We can not do whatever we like and wait for municipal cleaning teams to come twice a week. After all, the fiscal appropriation is limited. Also, according to the broken windows theory, the more messy the local environment is, the less likely people are willing to protect it. It is a vicious circle. Overall, I agree that the government should make people responsible for their own local environment, providing that the government has a sound sanitation service system and related facilities. With the efforts of government and the general public put together can a better environment be achieved.