Some people believe that allowing children to make their own decisions is likely to result in a society of individualism. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss.

People have different views about whether children should decide their daily matters without thinking other things but only their own wishes. While it may cultivate their confidence and independence in this way, i believe that considering other people when making a decision to a certain degree is more important. On the one hand, children doing their own choices can definitely form a habit of thinking independently. When making decisions about which clothes to put on, which restaurant to have a meal and which entertainment to have fun, children are able to improve their self-awareness; the ability is beneficial for their future choices on the subjects or their interests to pursue. Besides, getting satisfied with the choices they made will build their confidence. They can speak more directly and bravely about their needs, which is quite clear for their parents to understand their demands so that they can find a way to get on well with their kids. On the other hand, i think, it is perhaps even more important to prepare children for the many aspects of adult life that require perspective-taking, the ability to relate to other people and see things from their perspective, before making a choice. In this way, they may not act so rude and impolite that bother other people, or they may seem to be selfish without thinking about others. In the era of globalisation, collaborations from individual to individual happen on a daily basis, which makes it essential for them to gain the ability to cooperate. So making choices selfishly should be avoided. In conclusion, i can understand why people might encourage children to make their own decision, but it seems to me that a perspective-taking consideration before making a choice is more desirable in adult life.