Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is noticed that increasing crimes throughout the world, therefore, some people deem that granting longer prison period to outlaws can reduce crimes. But, I tend to have a different view about this situation. Admittedly, having a long time in prison, especially for evil crime groups, society would be in a phase of harmony. More importantly, such action can deter potential offenders, which means they are afraid of this consequence and give up committing, while these situations can be diminished by other reasonable methods. However, it is undeniable that educating offenders how to be good society members is a majority way to be widely adopted in every country. That is because human right is deeply planted in citizens’ mind, which means even offenders have the education right, the survival right as normal citizens. Meanwhile, the authorities will set some useful and practical courses such as cooking, painting, and repairing which can teach outlaws how to survive in society rather than rely on committing crimes to gain money. Besides, some criminals would take revenge on society when they have a long-time prison. For instance, some thieves were likely used to taking small items like cellphones, luxury, wallets, they will hurt citizens or even kill someone when they were granted a long time in prison. To sum up, granting a long period in prison to offenders is not the best way to reduce the crime rate. The government should combine more effective and humane methods to educate outlaws rather than more severe punishments.