The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several means of communication, such as newspapers and television, are believed to impact people's perspectives about the world. I strongly agree with this. There are several reasons for my stance, first and foremost, People believe what they read. This is because newspapers as creators and reporters have won people's trust, as a result, people get impacted by what they read. For instance, the ubiquitous presence of bad news of the Queensland and NSW floods and draught bought a very gloomy attitude to society and people felt pessimistic. As a result, it can sometimes create a very negative environment amongst communities. Hence, in a nutshell, the aforementioned proposition justifies my stance. Secondly, another significant reason for this is that people's point of view is greatly impacted by what they see on television or read in newspapers. This is due to the fact that they trust mass media and believe that all news goes under vigorous checks. For example, the latest research acknowledged the fact that authors' prejudices and biases creep into the published articles and can affect how people perceive them and can change their view on that particular topic. As a result, people can start perceiving and behaving in certain ways which are unlike them under the influence of what they read. Thus, I believe the above-mentioned arguments support my stance on this. In conclusion, I still believe that the mass media has the benefit of informing the public about their surroundings. However, occasionally there can be author biases and prejudices that can creep into the publications. Even though, in my opinion, advantages outweigh disadvantages.