In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Choosing to live alone or in small family units is becoming a trend rather than living in large, extended family groups. However, the issue is not completely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. On the one hand, those who prefer living alone cite various reasons for this. These range from greater independence to lower financial burden. For instance, many students and professionals opt to live alone because it offers them more flexibility to plan their schedule, lifestyle and social activities without getting interfered with the family members. Moreover, people who are alone are better at shouldering responsibilities than those living with their families. For example, they pay their bills on time, clean the house and take proper care of it. They also learn to take care of themselves. Thus, living alone can bring about many benefits for some individuals. By contrast, there are a few disadvantages that come along while living alone. First, humans can develop psychological problems such as stress and depression while living alone because our minds find happiness in socially interacting with others which doesn't happen often while living alone. For example, there are many instances in life when we need the emotional support of people who are very close to us such as family members. Furthermore, it can be difficult for one person to do all of the household tasks such as shopping for groceries, cooking and cleaning which otherwise get split among the family members. Thus, there are also a few issues associated with living alone. Overall, it can be argued that living alone has both merits and demerits. In my opinion, every one of us has the right to lead a lifestyle of our choice. However, we should ensure that our preferences do not hurt our family members and ourselves.