Some people think money is the best gift to give to teenagers others disagree to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a certain group do not believe giving money to children is a good gift, others think this is the best approach. I will discuss both views stating the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give my conclusion at the end. Firstly, giving funds to kids at an early age can be easier than getting a present mainly because the individual giving this gift doesn't have to stress overthinking about what the child will like. Also, most people also believe if they give the child cash, he could buy whatever he wants as most kids are materialistic. For example, a youngster who is given 100 nairas will use his money to buy whatever he wants. However, there are some concerns such as the cash might be used for something that is not of value and they become too money conscious. Thus, if money is to be given then I suggest parents should teach their kids to adopt saving as a lifestyle. On the other hand, material presents speak volumes as most children would treasure a properly thoughtful one over funds. For example, when you buy a play station 5 for a teenager, you automatically become his favourite person. However, as much as this has some good advantages like making them happy, socializing with friends with their new toys and gadgets, it helps them create beautiful memories and that can last a lifetime. The child might outgrow some of the gifts, some might even spend the most time with their new equipment but he or she would appreciate it more. Thus, I strongly believe that material things would go a long way if it is based on the need of the child. In conclusion,Gifting a kid money isn't always the best in my opinion. Nevertheless, if you must then they need to understand the value and not squander it. Material presents should be given instead as it certainly holds more value and would remain a memory for the kid.