Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those whose are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public area. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is a widespread fact that smoking is detrimental for both active and passive smokers. It is, therefore, suggested that there must be a strict halt on smoking in all the communal places. Although this rule can call for some disturbance in society, I find it a welcome and desirable note. Those who smoke regularly may create a nuisance against banning cigarettes publicly. This is because they claim that smoking is one of their fundamental rights as they live in a liberal country. Consuming what or not is their own personal choice which must not be interfered with and regulated by anyone, not even by the government. According to their mindset, the concerned authorities are at risk to experience sheer annoyance from the lobbies of addicted people. A similar example from Bengaluru can be put forward where a group of smokers brutally beat a policeman to the death who restricted them from smoking in an amusement park. On the other hand, restricting smoking in communal places will definitely bring a positive change for passive smokers who are helpless to inhale toxic fumes as they usually have to visit some public spots for their daily work. This smoke is considered hazardous for their health whether they do not have a puff themselves. A survey conducted by WHO revealed that 43% of individuals have been affected by passive smoking in the last 3 years, developing lethal diseases such as lung cancer, asthma and uncurable cough, to name a few. Also, it is unethical to force someone to intake drug substances and narcotics,directly or indirectly.According to me, public smoking is a violation of the social rights of non- smokers and must be stopped by enforcing stringent laws and order, and the defaulters should be fined heavily. To conclude, it is quite obvious that cigar smoke affects passersby people with cigarette fume and, nonetheless, smoking in public places ought to be prohibited with a view to protecting passive smokers.