Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

It is said that traffic issues are increased in the major cities over the last few due to a rise in car ownership. This essay agrees that increase in ownership has caused this traffic issue. Firstly will discuss how careless purchase of a car is making our cities congested and slow. Then we will see what action the government can take to solve this problem. People living in the cities are financially stable, and due to this car ownership has increased lately. Each person in the family owns a car for themself which they use for their business purposes or leisure activities. However, this has led to a major traffic jam during pick hours. Although travelling in a car can be easy. it is making our daily commute slower day by day. For example, Until 2018 roads of Mumbai city was drivable, after the sudden boom in the economy car purchase was made affordable. Due to this Mumbai is now, one of the most congested cities in the world. The government should take some action to solve this matter. There should be restrictions on buying more than one car per family. Furthermore, taxes on cars should be increased and people should be encouraged to use a means of public transport. Though people will find it difficult, eventually they will understand the benefits. For an instance, China has implemented the rules that, a car which has an odd plate number can be used on Monday and Thursday and a car with an even plate number can be used on Friday and Sunday. In conclusion, excessive car ownership has made the traffic situation worst in some cities. However,the government should take the necessary steps to overcome this problem.