Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often believed that homework has an essential role in children's education. However, some may say that teachers should not give children assignment as it is not important. I strongly believe that homework may help in enhancing a child's education. A study shows that kids show symptoms of stress such as exhaustion and sleep deprivation due to them doing their homework. This is maybe due to children spending their energy and time doing assignments and sitting in front of their desk being burnt out and whether or not they will be able to submit it on time. For example, children may do their assignments past bedtime thus resulting in a lack of proper sleep. Another thing, being in school is considered a full-time job for kids as in some places school starts at 8 am and finishes at 5 pm. Some of the students may also have extra-curricular activities that can impact their ability to do homework. With all of the drawbacks given, there are benefits to having to do classwork. Students only retain 50% of the discussion or information the teacher provided in class and schoolwork aids in developing good study habits and skills as it requires independent practice to understand new concepts better. In my experience, new concepts and ideas are learned way better by doing coursework. Another benefit is that it helps children to acquire skills and qualities they'll need throughout their lives such as time-management, critical thinking, problem-solving, accountability and discipline. These skills and qualities may aid them in creating, organizing and completing work in the future. In conclusion, homework may play an important role in educating children as it may assist in developing skills and qualities that they will need throughout their life and also aids in creating good study habits. However, some of its drawbacks are the stress it puts on children.