Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The issue of violence is as old as time itself. The first time many of us are confronted with violence is often during childhood. This essay will discuss the importance of teaching children the right way of dealing with these situations. Fighting fire with fire, tends to result in a bigger fire. Violence can have drastic consequences. For instance, I have once observed a bully getting his nose broken by his initial victim. In this case, the initial victim actually got into more trouble. This illustrates how responding to violence can escalate the situation for the victim, even if he or she was acting in self-defence. When we act in anger, we tend to act irrationally leading to actions we may regret afterwards. In such scenarios, it is often best to walk away and let a third -party deal with the bully. It is important for children to form good habits before entering adulthood. For example, if someone is not tought thought how to deal with violence as a child, they likely to have trouble dealing with similar situations in the future. In addition, children tend to enjoy less-harsh consequences, which is not the case for adults. This is why its necessary that we understand, though it might be hard sometimes, that walking away from situations of this caliber is often the better choice. This is a skill that transfares to many situations in life, often benefiting the one that acted like the "bigger person" In conclusion, this essay has explored two reasons for parents to teach their children not to hit back bullies. However, this may not be the correct way of dealing with all situations. Many of us will have with violence throughout our lives. It is essential to be prepared for the worse.