In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some cultures, whether one’s home is rented or bought is important. However, while various reasons support that everyone should buy a house or an apartment, it is actually negative for the development of college students and young adults. The cause of the phenomenon is that citizens in these cultural backgrounds regard owning a real estate property as a kind of success. Rather than renting a place with paying the rent to the housekeeper, owning a house but loaning from the bank is seen as better and wiser in these areas since livers could enjoy ultimate freedom when living in the house and make the property be an investment. For example, the trend of investing in real estate is prevalent in Taiwan and China, and lots of people become rich and careless after some successful operations, which promotes the aspect that owning is better than renting. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that the aspect will lead to negative circumstances. Since a large portion of the undergraduates and people who just enter the workforce would choose some specific career paths to fulfil the goal of buying houses, the overall development of these young would be restricted to certain occupations. For example, an immense number of college students in Taiwan would dream to work in TSMC, a company famous for its high salary and long working hours, to earn enough money in their earlier lives. However, these promising people might originally have some extraordinary talents in other fields, which could make them even more promising in the long run. In conclusion, although owning real estate is viewed as being successful and could bring a great fortune, choosing the career path that one is skilled at would create a greater potential in the future in my opinion.