Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced.

Many local stores and markets are focusing more and more on imported goods as compared to locally grown commodities. This trend is mainly due to the popularity of stuff grown in foreign countries and the unfavourable environmental conditions. While many believe that this is a positive development, I personally believe that this is not for two main reasons. Firstly, consider the climate in the country. Growing a crop or generating a product out of it usually requires favourable conditions whatsoever, which makes it difficult to harvest and produce in different climates. Take Brocolli, for example, which is grown only in some parts of the United States due to the atmosphere required to grow the crop. Consequently, it is always difficult to create an environment apt to grow the crop. This brings me to the second and the most important reason, which is the demand for products. Since each and every country have its unique brands, the popularity makes it difficult to use local stuff. Moreover, the demand compels one to increase the food production and import the brands from foreign nations rather than generating it locally. For instance, Tobelorone is popular in Paris and is only made there, which generates a need to import it from other countries. Therefore, I am of the opinion that this has been a negative development for two main reasons. The first is more and more money is spent on imported and branded things. For example, foreign products such as Nike and Adidas which are not local have a high-cost value as compared to local brands. As a result, people are asked to invest more money to buy a particular brand product, whereas a local brand is way cheaper. On the whole, people spend five times more on buying things as compared to local-made. On the other hand, the most important reason I feel is that it helps increase the income of foreign countries and assists in the rise in the overall GDP of the nation. Therefore, spending more and more on foreign goods will profit the nations, where they are generated. Overall, the nations importing more rather than using local things, lose more on the money value and the amount made through local products. In conclusion, better climatic conditions and the fame of the product are the two main reasons why most of the commodities are imported. I, therefore, believe that this on whole is a negative advancement due to a great number of funds spent on imported goods and it contributes more towards the foreign nation's income