Some people think that students should only study with those who are at the same level of intelligence. However, others argue that it is better for students to study in an environment of mixed abilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While it is commonly thought that it is better to arrange smart scholars to learn only with each other, others believe an environment with pupils at mixed levels of intelligence is actually better. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, the mixed environment is better for improving the majority of students. On the one hand, studying with only talented people will greatly enhance academic performance. Firstly, they can easily discuss with others about high-level problems or teamwork on complex projects. Furthermore, those students can even take advantage of having a wide range of relationships with outstanding people for future work. However, that education system is extremely competitive and stressful, as anyone who does not meet the expectations will be eliminated from the group. As a result, learners will eventually push themselves too hard and cause a detrimental impact on both their mental and physical health. On the other hand, wise scholars in the mixed-ability group can help other students perform better. For instance, smart ones can teach or lead others in case the lessons from teachers are not clear enough. Besides, average students can study tricks or tips for revision from those who have better academic performance. Eventually, the gap in abilities or intelligence between them will reduce over time. In contrast with the enhancement of the majority of students, it is quite tough for the talented ones to improve further or even discover their true level, as those mixed groups usually have an easy syllabus. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that all excellent-performing learners should be divided into different groups to study; meanwhile, others assume that it is better to let students at any level study together. Personally, I tend to believe that studying in a mixed environment would be better as most students can improve to have a considerable academic performance.