Some people think that the government is responsible for a healthy diet of citizens, others maintain the view that this is a personal responsibility of each individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of people’s eating habits is a crucial issue nowadays. It is believed that the government should be in charge of the nutrition of their residents. But on the other hand, it is also a personal choice of each individual and it should be maintained personally. And I personally agree with the lattest latter point. On the one hand, citizens should be provided with up-to-date information in the health sphere and medicine by the government, because basic knowledge can help people to prevent many illnesses that are caused by unhealthy lifestyles. For example, Swedish research of 2019 showed that 90% of heart diseases were caused by inadequate nutrition. That’s why people should be informed about all consequences of unhealthy diet at the state level. On the other hand, people have a constitutional right of free will and they are allowed to make their own choices in a question that deals with their private life and health. Information can be provided in different sources of information: social media, TV, radio and others. But decisions about eating or not eating something can be made by each person individually and can not be compulsory and told by governmental structure. Nowadays there are still a lot of controversial questions about healthy nutrition and researchers do not have the only one correct answer. In conclusion, it is a good initiative when the government provides their citizens with knowledge about health and nutrition. But the choice of type of a diet is a personal decision and responsibility and it should be respected without imposing it.