To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally accepted that as the population rises, the need for food goes along with it. With that being said, a country must use insects as an alternative nutrient source. On the other hand, bugs are believed to be unhealthy and could impact nature badly. Thus, this essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of insect use for people’s consumption. First of all, the need for nourishment grows side by side along with the increasing number of citizens all over the world. Therefore, using insects as an alternative food source to fulfil the need can be one of the ways to resolve this need. Insects, which are available around the globe, can easily be harvested by anyone. For instance, communities who live in the rural areas in Indonesia eat insects as their staple food, such as fried grasshoppers or fried worms, since finding other protein sources is harder than hunting insects. Furthermore, processing bugs into edibles is not as hard as it may seem. On the other hand, even though insects are readily available around the globe, their research on nutrition is not well-known by the majority of people. For example, since insects are commonly found in the wild when people cook them into edibles, some are proven to have allergies after consuming processed bugs. Moreover, if citizens use it as one of their nutrient sources, it will imbalance nature’s food chain. In conclusion, although the population of people around the globe arises as well as the need for nourishments, insects are considered to be innutritious and have negative impacts on the environment. In my opinion, I firmly believe that using unhealthy animals such as insects to fulfil the lack of food sources is not a wise option to choose.