A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent days, people seem to be more interested in social status and financial income than moral virtues. In my opinion, values such as trust, empathy and courage are way important than society ranks. First of all, social status and material possessions are volatile. For instance, when Wall Street stock exchange fell, many wealthy families found themselves in a extreme crisis. All their savings and stocks were lost, and they were left with nothing; their social status abruptly crashed and they had to rebuild their position from the beginning. This clearly shows how much can fluctuate physical possessions, and why it is not the best way to judge someone's worth. Secondly, virtues hardly change over time. In order to develop a long intimate relationship or, simply, a supervisor-employee relationship, these values are significant. Virtues, such as honor, courage, empathy and trust are the basis to build these kind of relationships because, for instance, if there is no trust, supervisor are unlikely to assign important projects to employees. Furthemore, it is more difficult for a clerk to acquire a higher position, therefore, a higher income to sustain his family. Same can be said regarding love relationships. If there is no trust, it is likely that the relationship crumbles and partners distance themeselves by each other. In conclusion, I believe that moral virtues are considerably important in order to judge a person's worth rather than social rank and economic possessions. If people take ethic values more into consideration than stocks and ranks, it highly creates a better society.