Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, under the effect of globalisation, the phenomenon of environmental issues has aroused wide concerns among various circles. Divergent as peoples' views on this issue in question may be, I personally believe that the public awareness of the environmental issues is not enough. Of all the reasons why not enough attention has been drawn to the environmental problems, probably the most significant one is the prevalence of the consumer culture. Companies encourage customers to keep abreast of their latest trends, so people will keep purchasing luxury goods in a bid to fulfil their vanity. However, in order to increase the attractiveness of the commercial products, non-biodegradable plastic bags are used extensively for packaging. At the end of the day, not only the plastic wastes thrown for increasing the landfills burden, but also emission of toxic gases such as methane gas will also occur to cause air pollution. Despite the aforementioned negative consequences caused by over-consumption of plastic wastes, never should we overlook the fact that tourism is one of the main culprits aggravating environmental pollution. In metropolitan cities, tourism has been an effective way to boost the economy. A wide range of services can be financially boosted, ranging from infrastructure, transportation to accomodation. Although it can inevitably increase the gross domestic product, GDP, of the cities, it also brings about several environmental problems to the society, for example, railway or building construction will cause air and sound pollution to the neighbourhoods, and initiating the reclamation project would destroy the marine wildlife habitats and this in turn the marine diversity would decrease. To summarise, due to the increase in population, different human activities are undoubtedly attributed to the catastrophic environmental consequences. It is therefore of paramount importance that the public should start aware of the issues and take action to alleviate the potential problems.