Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the usage and addiction of a smartphone have been growing rapidly in many countries. There is a number of reasons for this widespread problem. While this growing trend can affect us in different ways, I personally think that these are mostly negative. First of all, the most common reason for this trend seems to be directly linked to the growing popularity of certain social platforms. For example, in my country, many people have Facebook and Twitter accounts which makes them spend an extended amount of time using their smartphones to engage in different activities online. What is more important is that, there is a pile of appealing or interesting videos, photos, and information about millions of people on these websites which makes it hard for the viewers to be uninterested. Second of all, there are many new possibilities to earn a salary or monetary benefits by using their mobile phones which makes it difficult for some individuals to quit. For instance, many people are highly dedicated to playing different games on their phones to earn some money or even cryptocurrencies. Furthermore, many famous or well-known people tend to participate in advertising or sponsorship deals using their social media personalities which can be viewed as a major benefit of using a smartphone effectively. ​ However, I personally think that the increased usage of mobile phones can be seen as a largely negative development because it can impose serious harmful impacts, mostly by decreasing the exposure to real and lively communications among people. It can also harbour some serious health hazards including insomnia, fatigue and poor vision as the smartphone screen has been known to emit certain light that is proven harmful. ​In conclusion, the main reasons for the widespread trend of using smartphones are mainly related to the growing popularity of social media platforms that can offer many different entertainment contents as well as new financial opportunities. However, in my opinion, this trend is a largely negative and possibly harmful development.