Some people think that advertising on TV is usefull for viewers, while other disagree. Discuss both sides and give opinion.

Recently, with the increasing trend of social media, the phenomenon of advertising benefits on television has aroused wide concerns among various circles. Divergent as peoples' view on this issue in question may be, although there are good arguments in favour of advertising on TV would bring positive effect, I personally believe that advertising on television is undoubtedly harmful to the audience. Of all the reasons why advertisements have their advantages, probably the most significant one is that it helps to utilise peoples' imagination and flex their creative muscles. Due to the fact that it is necessary to draw customers' attention by advertising their latest products on TV within a minute, people in the marketing or promotion industry are thus encouraged to develop an interesting storyline or new ideas in a bid to increase the attractiveness of their products. For instance, some advertisements would copy some famous scenes from a popular movie and also add some special features of their products in it, in order to arouse audience's attention and glue their eyes on the products for a few more seconds. This in turn can increase the exposure of their products to the public for increasing income to the companies. Despite the positive effects brought by the advertisements described as above, I believe that it does more harm than good. As it can also convey distorted messages to the public. Due to the prevalence of the consumer culture, companies encourage people to keep abreast of their latest products. As a result, they often create an unrealistic imagination with exaggerated effects, that manipulates people at the end of the day. For example, in some fashion magazines, their products are often presented with glamorous and slim models, that implied the message of "thin is tantamount to beauty". This distorted value would widen the gap between the real self and ideal self among women, and eventually undermine their self-esteem. To summarise, not only advertisements could have a wide range of advantages, but it is of paramount importance that the public should also aware of their potential drawbacks.