Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones have become a part of our life. Children are spending hours on their mobiles daily. It is because they are so addicted to it. I think it is a negative development because children ’s eyesight is affected by using smartphones all the time. To begin with, the reason why children spend hours on their smartphones is because they are so much addicted to them. They prefer to spend time with their mobiles rather than their family because they can do whatever they want to do on their mobile phones like they can watch movies, listen to songs, talk with their friends and much more. Children love their smartphones. For example, my nephew spends most of his time on a smartphone because he wants to play games, watch cartoons, etc., and he is so much addicted to it. On the downside, I think it is a negative development because smartphones affect children ’s physical and mental health. Children ’s eyesight is so much affected by using smartphones. Nowadays, children do not take an interest in physical activities and instead of playing, they prefer to play on mobiles. It has affected their mental health also. For illustration, my brother uses a lot of mobile and his eyesight is affected by this. He spent all of his time on smartphones. In conclusion, parents should restrict the mobile use of smartphones for their children because they are becoming addicted to it and I think it is a negative development because it affects both the physical and mental health of children.