Nowadays many companies have manufacturing facilities in different countries. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is being observed that many firms nowadays are more interested in having manufacturing units in various nations. Ostensibly, this trend has multifarious benefits to companies in the form of saving a huge cost of transportation across the borders and generating mass employment for other nations. To begin with, the facilities of production in different nations are conducive for companies in order to save the cost of custom duties to transport goods in various nations. To explain, there are many licenses and certificates that companies have to obtain before import or export of goods from one country to another and this process involves a lot of money which can be saved this way. In fact, this trend of shifting production hubs can generate a considerable number of employment in the nation where companies set up these hubs. Thus, an increasing number of people get opportunities to be a part of international firms due to this new system. In addition, when companies set up manufacturing units in other nations, they can generate their products as per the demand of that area. This may incredibly increase their profit and goodwill among customers due to quick delivery of products. A survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 revealed that 75% of companies had been setting up more production facilities in different nations since these made them able to increase the growth of their business tremendously. Furthermore, a section of society has raised a concern of involvement of huge funds at the time of installation of a totally new production unit in other countries as it requires many essential factors to be done such as land, electricity connection and approval, transportation system of that area and permit to transport goods within a country. Hence, installation of a new production unit in another country is a herculean task for companies which not every company can afford. Moreover, lack of a proper administration can be another issue in this system. To clarify, when companies have manufacturing units in different nations, they may require reliable and good staff to provide exact reports to head office timely. For example, lack of communication and false presentation of data can be harmful for companies. To conclude, it is unequivocal that the idea of having manufacturing facilities in various nations by many companies is having more advantages than its disadvantages.