Many people nowadays do not feel safe either when they are at home or go out. What are the reasons and what can be done to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that an increasing number of people feel unsafe, not only when they go out somewhere, but also when they are at home. This is happening because of several reasons, and some steps can be taken to combat this situation. The reasons why people are afraid of going out and staying in their homes are very obvious. Firstly, the crimes, committed on the streets, have risen to a proportion, more than ever before and continue to increase every day. Due to which some people are afraid to go out. Secondly, it goes without doubt that terror attacks have become everyday news. Consequently, people feel afraid of stepping out of their homes and at the same time, people are getting scared within their homes because of escalation of crimes at home such as murder and robberies. However, there are certain steps which can be taken by the government and individuals to make people safer and protected. As the unemployment is the main cause of these crimes, if the youth of the country are provided with vocational training and good job opportunities, they would not fall on the path of crime. Another important measure that needs to be taken by the government is to employ more security measures such as cameras, more police patrolling and security in public areas. It can deter the criminals and instil a sense of security in the public. For instance, the Bangalore government has made it mandatory for every shopkeeper to install security cameras. In conclusion, people feel unsafe because of uncertainty about safety, and by 0 taking concrete steps against the criminals, the insecurity of the people can be reduced.