Some hold the view that ideas and information should be completely open, and there should be no control on what people can read and watch in the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) Do you agree with this view, or do you think that in some circumstances governments should limit the freedom of the media?

There is a growing concern about mind control through TV and mass media these days. Many people feel that there should not be any control or censorship on information that people receive, whereas there are others who argue that it would be beneficial if government control the media in some situations. I will discuss both sides of this argument in this essay and present my own opinion. To begin with, those who are in favour of free media believe that controlling news can be interpreted as disrespect to people. It is because they feel that this act of government shows that it thinks people are not wise enough to judge things on their own and this action could be some kind of insult. On the other hand, it is argued by some that it is actually good to filter news on some occasions. They claim that, for example, when the government is dealing with serious cases of crime, the media should not report every detail that the police have discovered as it can trigger the criminals so that they escape. Another example that they base their belief on might be the allegations of suspects within cases that are not fully inspected yet. Revealing these types of information could lead to misjudgment by the public and would threaten the social status of potentially innocent people. In conclusion, there have long been discussions on the freedom of media. Having looked at both sides of the argument, I would have to say that occasional control of news in some cases will not be a problem if clear clarifications are presented afterwards once the dust settles.