Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

Space exploration has become a major discussion issue as it is massively expensive. In various circles, it is argued that the government ought to put tax-payers money towards solving other more immediate issues. In my opinion, space exploration is not worth the money, and thus, the budget should be allotted to other severe problems. Many nations around the word suffer from pandemic poverty. These countries do not have sufficient resources to meet the needs of the population. In consequence, the government cannot even provide the population with basic needs. Therefore, space exploration budget can be re-allocated to help these nations overcome their poverty and enable their governments focus on people’s quality of life. Furthermore, illiteracy is another immediate global issue which few may disagree that it needs to be addressed then and there, and it can be argued that it is more important, at least for the time being, than space exploration. For example, many studies show that millions of adult’s struggles to earn a living for themselves and their families due to their illiteracy problem. The latter pressing issue can be solved, If the affluent nations lend a hand with facilitating education in the poor regions. Besides, it is to an extent acceptable to state that space exploration is something which is not serious or of real value. Some countries do it in order to gain competitive edge over their counterparts. However, there are far more crucial endeavours to fund, for example, the exploration of our own planet. The volcanic regions are not yet explored fully, as is Antarctica. Thus, it can be argued that the knowledge available in our own planet is far worthy of spending money on than that of space. To conclude, in my opinion, space exploration is nothing but wasting money. Global issues such as poverty and illiteracy are far more rewarding to tackle, and we should explore our own planet before thinking in space exploration.