Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people while others believe that the purpose of museum is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

People have different views about the role and function of museums, whether those places should be enjoyable and entertaining or be educational places only. In my personal opinion, museums should be both a place to gain knowledge and enjoyable enough to attract the public’s interest. On the one hand, operating a museum just for sharing knowledge will not reach its purpose efficiently. Thus, some people suggest making museums create events and plan projects through which visitors can learn about the history and enjoy those activities actively. Average visitors may get bored if they have to read or listen to too much educational content thus, thinking of education through enjoyable events can be more attractive to potential visitors. Consequently, the management team could earn more funds and can invest them in maintaining and expansion of the museum. On the other hand, some people argue that museums should only focus on their main function, sharing knowledge about historical and cultural things. Visitors should be educated about the things that they did not know previously. Thus, some experienced guides will explain to a group of visitors or offer leaflets and hangouts in which general information about the exhibition is written. In this way, museums can carry out their main task of teaching people about history, culture, and many other knowledgeable things. In conclusion, it seems to me that a good museum should be able to offer an enjoyable and educational experience so that more visitors will come and learn new things while having fun at the same time.