In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic containers have been commonly used by food and drink companies in a significant number of countries. Regarding this, I strongly believe that drawbacks are overwhelm benefits. On the one hand, it is generally acknowledged that plastic is safe material as it is durable and light. Resistant plastic is not easily broken, and therefore customers do not need to worried about injuries by broken plastic commodities. For example, a lot of toys are made of plastic since it is safe for vulnerable children. As the example clearly illustrates, using plastic is a key factor in the safety of consumers. Moreover, not only does plastic cheap, but it also be recycled. Recycled plastic can be used in various industries. For instance, in Korea, recycled plastic is used for construction. Since plastic can absorb a noise, it is used as a cushion in order to reduce noise problems between floors. Hence, since plastic material can be recycled and widely used, using plastic containers are beneficial. On the other hand, there is non-recycled plastic. Colored plastic bottles, plastic products that are not able to empty such as mascara bottles, mixed plastic commodities such as tooth brushes can not be recycled. Regarding this, a survey conducted by the Korea Recycle Foundation has revealed that most of the public is skeptical towards recycling because only few plastic products can be recycled. Therefore, expecting the recycling of plastic is not realistic. In addition, plastic is harmful to an environment as it is non-biodegradable, so It takes almost 80 years to be decomposed. Moreover, it brings about micro- plastic which is spread all over the world by rains, winds, and the ocean. With people using plastic products, it would affects the ecosystem, and therefore it would be dangerous to food chain and, along with them, human beings. In conclusion, while I accept that using plastic bottles can sometimes be rather safe and it is possible to be recycled, there is no doubt that not every plastic commodity is recycled. Additionally, the environmental problem that is caused by micro- plastic is harmful to all lives in the earth. Therefore, using plastic is way disadvantageous.