In many countries teenagers are encouraged to do part time jobs. What's the situation like in your country? What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of doing part time jobs

From the psychological point of view, the adolescent period is critical for juveniles to convert their major interest from playing with toys to knowledge learning, both academically and mentally. Besides rigid knowledge learnt at school, facilitating teenagers to get part time jobs during their extracurricular time is wildly tackled by many nations. Although there are disadvantages like time occupation and distraction when students are away from their major task, as mental development and future perspective are considered, I hold the point that the benefits overwhelm the shortages. Despite countries that support this extracurricular strategy, there are other nations including my country China which stand on the opposite side, and their major concern might be that temporary jobs could reduce students ' precious study time and distract them from sterile knowledge. For example, senior students in China often are required to stay at school from 7:30 am to 9:00 pm six days a week, it is clear that teenages who share a similar high school schedule do not have spare time for part time work, and they have to reduce study time for joining in that extra activities. Moreover, they might find social works more intristing than cramming study, and would think about their work at study time. However, many young students in China go to society directly after finishing high school facing the fact that less than 10 percent of young generations could go to university. Provided that they have part time working experience, these teenagers might know better what they would like to do and to be in the future. Experiencing part time work before going to college or society help the next generations to get in touch with the society easier and form their own carrer plans. For instance, I never got a chance to think about what I would like to do in the future when I was at high school, after graduating from which, I had to decide what I would like to do as a carrer in only one month before pursuing further education, therefore I almost choosed my major blindly. Although I turned out to love my major, many of my colleagues are not as lucky as me and they did like their major for a long time. In conclusion, although engaging in temperory jobs as teenagers can occupy some study time and lead to distraction in some extent, it is still worthwhile to encourage next genertions to do some easy community works of volunteer jobs to discover the need of our society and their anticipant careers.