In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is widely held by individuals in certain nations that telling children to put in a lot of effort in order to achieve their aims is an effective way to encourage them. However, there are negative impacts of this trend with regard to mental issues as well. This essay will scrutinize the explanations between both favourable and unfavourable aspects before the conclusion is reached. One obvious advantage is that the youths who are advised to try hard enough to attain anything are encouraged to willingly attempt. This is because they have a compelling incentive and belief which sound possible enough to propel their endeavour. For example, if youngsters are desperate and hopeless in their study life, they can be psychologically convinced to strive because of an appealing destination. Another point to consider is that it provokes a positive feeling of self-confidence. Consequently, This proves that telling children that they can achieve their goal provided that they put enough effort into it is beneficial for them in terms of psychological encouragement. Nevertheless, there are evident disadvantages of this message as it will produce too much pressure on youngsters. To explain, when they are told to attempt considerably, they tend to push themselves too hard which will contribute to mental issues such as stress, reducing their performance as well as productivity. In addition, if the youths abide by this instruction but they fail to reach the achievement, negative feelings are then evoked, especially disappointment. For instance, there is a high likelihood of suicide in high school pupils preparing for university but didn’t reach their goals even though they have tried their best. As a result, these mental issues of children are caused by telling them to attempt immensely, so it is considered to be harmful. In conclusion, although the message that young people should try hard enough unless they will not achieve their aims is beneficial for being a motivation, the downsides in terms of detrimental effects on the mental health of the children should not be overlooked. It is, therefore, suggested that it should not be overgeneralized that trying hard will definitely lead to achievement.