Some people think students in primary school/ secondary school should be taught how to manage money because it is an important life skill. Do you agree or disagree.

" Money makes many things " says an adage and hence management of money is an extremely critical skill that everyone must possess during their lifetime. However, the age at which this skill must be learnt has been a subject of debate. While a few people believe that this skillset must be imbibed into children during their schooling (primary and secondary), many believe that, it is too early to do so. I certainly believe in the former and this essay strengthens my argument. From the moment a child is born, it starts to learn through its surroundings and most importantly parents. While a parent teaches the child a variety of activities like eating, speaking, walking, etc., the real learning phase of the kids begins at the school. This is where the learning becomes more enjoyable and effective owing to the presence of a supporting and more importantly, a disciplined atmosphere created by the teachers. With parenting becoming more and more challenging because of the exponential growth in technology, only schools can play the vital role of imparting critical life skills to students. Moreover, modern generation parents have been guilty of exposing their children to money at a tender age in the form of pocket money and gifts, albeit without teaching the kids the value of money. Hence, it is imperative that kids are taught the value of money during their schooling days. Money management is nothing but a combination of mathematics and prudence which can be easily inculcated into the students by supplementing certain methods in their curriculum. For example, introducing the students to a game of monopoly will go a long way in making them comprehend a few critical aspects of money management like buying, selling, mortgaging, constructing and renting a property. By introducing, a weekly vocational sessions like the above on money management, the students will be at ease in handling money in a better way than before. To conclude, I strongly believe that students should be exposed to management of money as a part of their school curriculum owing to its criticality in the present generation and also to the ease in implementation. This will result in our future leaders being more prudent in the way they handle money during their liefetime.