Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this high-tech era, our lives are speeded up in many aspects. People need to have more efficiency, in order to keep their job. As a result of urbanization, traffic congestion in the city has become a significant problem for working people. Many argue that the government should replace the parks and gardens with apartment buildings, while others hold different opinions. From the perspective of those, who are approving of replacing parks with apartment buildings, a well-designed neighbourhood can fully cover the function of a park or a garden. A well-designed neighbourhood can provide enough space to relax and there is also green vegetation coverage. By doing so, much pressure can be removed from the working people, and the efficiency in all industries will be increased. As a result, the happiness of the local habitats will grow. On the other hand, people, who disagree argue that the role a garden or a park plays, can’t be easily replaced. The green vegetation in a neighbourhood is not an alternative to those in parks. Parks and gardens have positive effects on local environmental regulation. Those are the buffers, that prevent the city from further heating up and by replacing them, people will suffer from an even worse environmental condition in a city. As for me, the parks and gardens buffer the environmental condition, offer a place for people to relax and some of which even have a historical meaning. Therefore, it is irresponsible to simply replace them, in exchange for the reduced travelling time for work. Besides, the environmental and climate challenges are the most essential concern of our generation and we shouldn’t make decisions unfavourable to the next generation. In a conclusion, even though both opinions are reasonable, it is still irresponsible to simply replace the parks and gardens with apartment buildings. There are alternative ways, in which we can benefit both the working people and our environment.