Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching television (especially informative television) has been recognised as an effective way of learning, because audio-visual information can attract students' attention and cultivate their interests. Although there are a huge number of TV programs that have educational value, I still do not agree that increasing screen time is a good idea. It is no doubt that watching TV will have a great impact on children's learning and some activities which can benefit their growth. It means that watching TV will distract their focus,especially without adults' supervision. Therefore, students who watch TV frequently can not focus on their learning tasks, which will result in decreasing their test scores. Additionally, little children are hard to take part in some interactive activities which can promote their brain development. Moreover, assigning time to watch TV will affect their physical health. The reason is that they will spend the whole day time on watching TV, instead of playing outdoor games with their partners. As a result, they will be at risk of diabetes and blind in the future. Whatsmore, they will lose their confidence due to limited time to tackle learning issues. Admittedly, television allows children have access to acquire knowledge of the world. Many TV programs related to education are special for younger students to help them to boost their understanding of various subjects. For instance, historical documentaries allow children to understand important events in the past, and other foreign channels could help them to learn foreign languages. By contrast, it can be seen as a supplement to knowledge learned from school. To sum up, parents and teachers should impose restrictions on watching TV, rather than encourage such a habit. Watching TV too much will influence their study, but not increase their scores.