Some believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with people who have a high-level degree. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued whether people who do physical work should get similar compensation to their peers who work in creative space. I neither agree nor disagree with the statement as I believe everyone should be paid according to the value they create irrespective of their profession or working style. Paying anyone more only based on which field or how they work is not a good way of compensating people. Rather, it should be based on the value their work creates for the user. The bigger the impact and so is their paycheque size. For example, the innovation of a tyre included lots of physical work, but the impact it made is immense and hence, paying them only for their physical work is not the ideal way to reward them. Moreover, it will result in creating better work where people choose their jobs to deliver maximum value based on their interests and get paid handsomely for it. Thus, the cheque size of jobs should be based on their usefulness to the world and not on how it is done. But there are practical problems on how to compare value created by different jobs, which is the main cause of people not getting paid fairly. As a solution, we need to think of ways of how value can be measured in absolute terms for any activity, and then compare it with other activities’ values to arrive at a compensation matching the output. For instance, it would not be possible to say directly whether a tyre is more useful than an algorithm that made our smartphones better. Only if their use can be converted into a meaningful single measuring unit, any fair cost can be assigned to it. Hence, by trying to solve the issue of measuring values for any job profile people can be offered pay equivalent to their impact. To conclude, there is no clear answer to whether blue-collar jobs should be paid equally to white-collar jobs. More efforts are required to compare the value derived out of each function, and accordingly, their wage rate can be finalised objectively.