Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

The ability to read and write is a fact that we take for granted in the present day, but in many,cases this capacity can be a luxury. We live in an unequal world and the level of illiteracy in some countries can be high. This does not mean that it is only a problem for these states. These people usually need help from others to do simple tasks. One of the first obstacles among the people without this knowledge in everyday life situations such as reading an important letter from the bank or how managing their money at ATMs. Another issue we need to consider is the possibility of criminality that these people may have. Illiterate people cannot get qualified jobs for obvious reasons so their economic situation may force them to make bad decisions and become delinquent. Governments always have the bad habit cut back on education or not investing enough. They do not understand that education is the basis of every country. The option of having an excellent public education system is vital to solving the challenge of illiteracy. A perhaps utopian system in which everyone can attend no matter how much money they have. On the other,side government could provide agents to help people with their labours if they are unable to do it themselves. Another practical solution is to create a safe place where people can go to learn and do different activities to become more efficient and independent. In short, a person who does not know to write or read can have difficulties in many areas of his or her life, and we should make better decision to avoid this.