More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, people are moving from rural to urban areas, however, living in a city might be quite challenging. Traffic and the expensive cost of living are the main difficulties they could face. Governments should improve public transportation and construct residential areas to decrease the cost of living. I will elaborate more in the next two paragraphs. Traffic congestion is one of the most important problems that face urban residents. This means that they must commute every day to go to work and back from it. As a result of this, workers arrive late to their work and accidents may happen. Therefore, governments should step up and improve public transportation by extending subway lines to reach the new urban areas and decrease the transit time. For instance, there was a great improvement in public transportation in Egypt after the introduction of subways which encouraged employees to leave their cars and ride the subway trains. The second challenge in living in an urban city is the expensive cost of living. This is because of the increase in the monthly payments to rent a two-bedroom flat. People start to share the place to decrease the financial burden on them, which has led to a breach of their privacy. For example, two tenants share the same flat for half the cost of housing, and this led to a lot of problems. Accordingly, governments should help people by building more residential areas with a low rent rate to make life easier for their citizens. Thus, governments play a pivotal role to improve the quality of life of their citizens. In conclusion, it is recommended that governments should give a hand to their population to ease their lives by improving the public transportation and building more houses to decrease suffering from traffic congestion and the cost of living.