Some people belive that advertising has a strong effect on a person's decision-making process. Other people believe that it has little or no real impact. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A long standing debate that has been an issue of contention is whether or not advertisements can strongly influence people's decision on a particular product or service. To support this, a lot of people purchase things not because they have strong convictions but rather because of the level of exposure and awareness available. Again, the opposing side believes that an individual's perception of something stands irrespective of any possible external influence. Many people are patronising companies not because they know their goods or services are good, but because of the level of publicity that such companies have set in motion. As far as the purpose of the advertising sector is concerned, in sensitizing viewers of anything, the more contact had with such content, the more likely it is that notions and ideas are sold to consumers at the expense of their right to discern. This is why many companies like Indomie, are making huge profits from catchy jingles and children are forcing their parents to eat only Indomie not because it is particularly good for them, but only because they often come in contact with phrases like "Indomie good for you". It is not easy to force people into having an idea of something if they already have their own views. Once an individual sees that something works and the other does not, then nothing in the world can change such perception as they have the conviction that only what they believe is true. If someone decides that MTN is better than GLO and they have tested and seen this to be a fact, no level of publicity can change this ideology. In conclusion, while it is true that buyers focus on buying things they are aware of as opposed to things they are sure of and a formed perception can never be changed, I think advertising influences people's awareness of a product but the decision to do something or not remains an autonomous right.