Nowadays, in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Are the advantages of this use overweigh the disadvantages?

Up to now, chemicals are widely used for food preservation and production in many countries. However, in my view, it brings more drawbacks than positive sides. First of all, fertilizers and pesticides that are used in agriculture, influence the quality of products that might be hazardous to people's health. If we take China as an example, this country takes one of the top places in terms of the production of vegetables in the world. However, the high volume of the products is caused by the wide usage of chemicals that preserve the food. Thus, since the quantity is high, the quality of products leaves much to be desired. Therefore, as many people consume such food, they may face health issues, and as a result, the consumption of these vegetables will be pointless. Secondly, with the popularity of the food that was produced by the means of pesticides, the manufacturing of contaminated chemicals increases the pollution of the environment. Since the demand for fertilizers becomes higher, many factories start rising their production volume. However, due to the fact that the exhausted gases come out, the air gets polluted. For example, in Russia, there are numerous factories that produce food chemicals, and the life in the vicinity becomes very dangerous due to the high volume of air contamination. Still, one benefit of chemical usage can be pointed out. The preservation of food for a longer period can cope with such problems as famine in such developing countries as Africa. Since these products can be delivered free to other countries and keep the freshness, people who suffer from hunger are able to get food. The availability of the products has helped many nations in poor countries. Overall, despite the fact that the usage of chemicals in food production and preservation has become widely spread, and has solved the famine issues in a number of countries, I believe that society should decrease the production of fertilizers and pesticides. To my mind, health and ecology should take the first place in human lives.