Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The lifespans of modern individuals have improved, and these can be attributed to advancements in healthcare and living environment. Whether or not to prolong their working lifespan, however, will require an in-depth discussion. Personally, I believe that the time for retirement should be individualised, giving our seniors a freedom to continue working if they wish, instead of mandating an later age for retirement, which may in turn do more harm than good. First and foremost, pushing back the age for retirement can cause burnout and exhaustion for many employees. Although more experienced employees can perform the duty better than a junior colleague, it is easy to see that a worker labouring for over thirty years will be burnout and tired. Seniors are more prone to minor health issues and concentration issues, which will, in turn, reduce productivity of the company. Thus, in a nutshell, a timely retirement will be a relief for the individual, the company and the society. Furthermore, by allowing people to retire earlier, more resources are made available. Upon retirement, promotion within the company is accelerated and more job opportunities made possible for new graduates and the society. Older people can have more freedom to develop their hobbies or join voluntary work, which can bring about satisfaction and sense of self-control. Compared with those who work after retirement, aged residents have a higher level of life satisfaction and happiness. In addition, elders can spend more time with their families to encourage bonding and spare the parents time for career development. Therefore, my view of not raising the age of retirement is convincingly justified. To conclude, I see that there are potent pieces of evidence to support my arguement, hence supporting the view of keeping the age of retirement as it is, rather than a mandatory delay in retirement age.