In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The growing trend of extension of life expectancy in developed countries will lead to serious problems for both individuals and society. More people will have struggling experience as they are required to take care of their seniors. The lack of a young workforce caused by this trend also damages the national economy. A flexible working style will be necessary to have a balanced lifestyle to protect their own health and companies should attract more young workers to promote their contribution for a longer period of time. One of the primary problems caused by ageing is the increasing need to take care of elderlies. In other words, people spend an incredible amount of time taking them to hospitals, managing their medicine, and preparing their meals while they still often have to work and educate their own children. This can cause intensive stress, which can result in deteriorating health conditions due to the overwhelming workload. In fact, there are a number of people forced to retire each year as they constantly suffer from insomnia and a deep sense of depression in Japan. Therefore, a flexible working style should be encouraged so they can take a rest and work at an individual pace without harming their well-being. Another issue that arises from an increasing number of seniors is the shortage of young workforce, which affects the national economy. For instance, Japan has already seen a huge drop in young workers as older people are more likely to continue their jobs even after their retirement age. This has made it difficult for companies to meet the altering needs of the public as they lack younger human resources whose computer and language skills are usually superior to seniors. Consequently, employers have to take a more active approach to attract them so they can support their companies by producing more creative items and selling them to international customers to boost their sales. Thus, a system to reward those who have made outstanding achievements should be established to gain more attention from the young workforce for companies to survive in a more competitive society. In conclusion, the ageing society has made it more challenging for individuals to deal with a number of tasks including taking care of their elderly, their own jobs and children. A flexible working style should be introduced to allow them to have a more balanced lifestyle. Furthermore, since a lack of young force will lead to a stagnant economy, companies should employ more young workforce, who make a prolonged commitment using advanced techniques and knowledge.